Curious Iguana hosts a variety of author events and book discussions, both in our store and at nearby locations. Unless otherwise noted, all events are free and open to the public. No registration is required, but seating is limited. Please call 301.695.2500 or email if you have any questions.

  • Sharing Our Stories Book Club
    07:00 PM-08:00 PM
    12 North Market Street, Frederick, MD 21701, USA
    Delve into personal essays and memoirs. This book club meets monthly on first Mondays. Free, no registration is required, and featured titles are discounted 20% at least four weeks prior to each discussion.Men We Reaped by Jesmyn Ward – February 5The Glass Eye by Jeannie Vanasco – March 5This Is the Story of a Happy Marriage by Ann Patchett – April 2This Will Be My Undoing by Morgan Jerkins – May 7 (paperback available 1/30/18)A Cup of Water Under My Bed by Daisy Hernandez – June 4The Home Place: A Colored Man's Love Affair with Nature by J. Drew Lanham – July 2The Red Parts: Autobiography of a Trial by Maggie Nelson – August 6Crapalachia: A Biography of a Place by Scott McClanahan – Tuesday, September 4*How to Be a Muslim: An American Story by Haroon Moghul – October 1Boy Erased by Garrard Conley – November 5Note: Sharing Our Stories does not meet in December.* Date differs from regular schedule.
  • Elizabeth Acevedo: The Poet X
    07:00 PM-08:00 PM
    31 West Patrick Street, Frederick, MD, United States
    Meet poet Elizabeth Acevedo, who will discuss her debut novel, The Poet X.About The Poet XFans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will fall hard for this astonishing novel in verse, about an Afro-Latina heroine who tells her story with blazing words and powerful truth."A story that will slam the power of poetry and love back into your heart." - Laurie Halse Anderson, author of Speak and ChainsAn incredibly potent debut. Jason Reynolds, author of the National Book Award Finalist GhostFollowing her presentation, Elizabeth Acevedo will answer questions and sign books purchased through Curious Iguana. Copies of The Poet X will be available for purchase at event. Cash and credit cards accepted. Reservations required.Reserve a seat for free.Reserve a seat and a book for $17.99.Doors open at 6:30 pm and event begins at 7 pm, with book signing to follow.---------------About Elizabeth AcevedoElizabeth Acevedo was born and raised in New York City and her poetry is infused with Dominican bolero and her beloved citys tough grit.She holds a BA in Performing Arts from The George Washington University and an MFA in Creative Writing from the University of Maryland. With over twelve years of performance experience, Acevedo has been a featured performer on BET and Mun2, as well as delivered several TED Talks. She has written two collections of poetry, her chapbook Beastgirl & Other Origin Myths and Medusa Reads La Negra's Palm. The Poet X is her debut novel. She lives with her partner in Washington, DC.
  • Tuesdays with Tea Book Club
    11:00 AM-12:00 PM
    12 North Market Street, Frederick, MD 21701, USA
    Discuss literary fiction and non-fiction, along with tea from the Iguana's next-door neighbor, Voila! This book club meets monthly on second Tuesdays. Free, no registration is required, and featured titles are discounted 20% at least four weeks prior to each discussion.Radical Hope edited by Carolina De Robertis – January 9The History of Love by Nicole Krauss – February 13We Are Taking Only What We Need by Stephanie Powell Watts – March 13The Peculiar Life of a Lonely Postman by Denis Theriault – April 10Lucky Boy by Shanti Sekaran – May 8Sing for Your Life by Daniel Bergner – June 12Less by Andrew Sean Greer – July 10The Woman Next Door by Yewande Omotoso – August 14Wolf Season by Helen Benedict – September 11The Book Thieves by Anders Rydell – October 9 (paperback available 2/6/18)Salt Creek by Lucy Treloar – November 13Note: Tuesdays with Tea does not meet in December.
  • Supper & Stories at Nido's
    07:00 PM-08:00 PM
    111 East Patrick Street, Frederick, MD, United States
    Join us on the second Tuesday of every other month at 7 pm for Supper & Stories at Nido’s Italian restaurant, 111 East Patrick Street, in Downtown Frederick. For $40* per person, you receive a paperback copy of the featured title and a delicious meal, flavored with engaging conversation about the book.Now in its third year, Supper & Stories turns the page to family stories with compelling characters from Cameroon, Tel Aviv, Detroit's East Side, New York City, and other locales near and far. Get to know your world, and get to know your neighbors, at these unique gatherings, sponsored by Nido’s and Curious Iguana. About Three Floors Up by Eshkol Nevo – March 13Recently translated from Israeli to English, the story Ekshol Nevo weaves is as funny as it is moving. As the fates of three families inhabiting different floors of the same Tel Aviv apartment building mingle, the author brilliantly depicts the interconnected lives of the residents, whose turmoils, secrets, unreliable confessions, and problematic decisions reveal a society in the midst of an identity crisis. Behold the Dreamers by Imbolo Mbue – January 9Three Floors Up by Eshkol Nevo – March 13The Twelve Lives of Samuel Hawley by Hannah Tinti – May 8 (paperback available 1/30/18)The Turner House by Angela Flournoy – July 10The Latehomecomer by Kao Kalia Yang – September 11Perfume River by Robert Olen Butler – November 13 *Price includes meal, beverage, gratuity, and copy of book. Fee is non-refundable, and space is limited. Register in person at Nido’s, 111 East Patrick Street, Downtown Frederick, or online, then bring voucher to Curious Iguana, 12 North Market Street, to pick up your free book. Questions? Call Nido’s at 301-624-1052 or Curious Iguana at 301-695-2500.
  • Pre-Pub Book Club
    12:00 PM-01:00 PM
    12 North Market Street, Frederick, MD 21701, USA
    Choose from advance (pre-publication) copies of titles not yet available to the public. Select a free book to read, then join us the following month to share your feedback. This group meets monthly at Noon on third Thursdays: January 18, February 15, March 15, April 19, May 17, June 21, July 19, August 16, September 20, October 18, and November 15.Note: Pre-Pub does not meet in December.
  • Queer Universe Book Club
    07:00 PM-08:00 PM
    12 North Market Street, Frederick, MD 21701, USA
    Travel through the  universe of best-selling young adult LGBTQ+ fiction. New in 2018, this book club meets March through June on third Mondays at 7 pm. Free, no registration is required, and featured titles are discounted 20% at least four weeks prior to each discussion. I’ll Give You the Sun by Mandy Nelson - March 19When the Moon Was Ours by Anne-Marie McLemore - April 16Of Fire and Stars by Audrey Coulthurst - May 21Our Own Private Universe by Robin Talley - June 18
  • The Woman's Hour - Author Talk and Book Signing with Elaine Weiss
    07:00 PM-08:00 PM
    110 East Patrick Street, Frederick, MD, United States
    Meet award-winning author Elaine Weiss, who will discuss her latest non-fiction book, The Woman's Hour: The Great Fight to Win the Vote (Viking, 3/6/18). Event is free and open to the public; no reservations required. Q&A and book signing will follow presentation, and books will be available for purchase at event.The Woman's Hour details the nail-biting climax of one of the greatest political battles in American history: the ratification of the constitutional amendment that granted women the right to vote.Nashville, August 1920. Thirty-five states have ratified the Nineteenth Amendment, twelve have rejected or refused to vote, and one last state is needed. It all comes down to Tennessee, the moment of truth for the suffragists, after a seven-decade crusade. The opposing forces include politicians with careers at stake, liquor companies, railroad magnates, and a lot of racists who don't want black women voting. And then there are the "Antis"--women who oppose their own enfranchisement, fearing suffrage will bring about the moral collapse of the nation. They all converge in a boiling hot summer for a vicious face-off replete with dirty tricks, betrayals and bribes, bigotry, Jack Daniel's, and the Bible. Following a handful of remarkable women who led their respective forces into battle, along with appearances by Woodrow Wilson, Warren Harding, Frederick Douglass, and Eleanor Roosevelt, The Woman's Hour is an inspiring story of activists winning their own freedom in one of the last campaigns forged in the shadow of the Civil War, and the beginning of the great twentieth-century battles for civil rights."Anyone interested in the history of our country's ongoing fight to put its founding values into practice--as well as those seeking the roots of current political fault lines--would be well-served by picking up The Woman's Hour."

    --Margot Lee Shetterly, author of the NYT bestseller Hidden Figures

  • Global Voices Book Club
    07:00 PM-08:00 PM
    12 North Market Street, Frederick, MD 21701, USA
    Explore literary fiction by international authors. This book club meets monthly on last Wednesdays at 7 pm. Free, no registration is required, and featured titles are discounted 20% at least four weeks prior to each discussion.Selection Day by Aravind Adiga – February 28Iza’s Ballad by Magda Szabo – March 28The Wild Geese by Ogai Mori – April 25Reputations by Juan Gabriel Velasquez – May 30The Golden Legend by Nadeem Aslam – June 27 (paperback available 3/6/18)Under the Udala Trees by Chinelo Okparanta – July 25Out Stealing Horses by Per Petterson – August 29The Secret Son by Laila Lalami – September 26Captains of the Sands by Jorge Amado – October 24*Note: Global Voices does not meet in November or December.* Date differs from regular schedule.