An Evening of Poetry

04/05/17 07:00 PM - 04/05/17 08:00 PM
Curious Iguana
12 North Market Street, Frederick, MD 21701, USA

Join us for an evening of poetry as we celebrate National Poetry Month. Enjoy readings by local poets and friends Anne Higgins and Bill Jones, followed by a Q&A and book signing.

About Anne Higgins

Anne Higgins teaches at Mount Saint Mary’s University in Emmitsburg, Maryland. She is a member of the Daughters of Charity. Eight books of her poetry have been published: At the Year’s ElbowScattered Showers in a Clear SkyPick It Up and ReadHow the Hand BehavesDigging for GodVexed QuestionsReconnaissance, and Life List.   Her poems have been featured frequently on The Writer’s Almanac

About Bill Jones

Bill Jones grew up in Frederick in the 1950s and 60s, and his memoir in poetry, At Sunset, Facing East, includes numerous poems about that time period. He currently lives in Baltimore, where he has taught English and creative writing for more than 40 years. A former winner of a Baltimore Artscape Literary Arts Award, he has had poetry appear in publications such as California Quarterly, Borderlands:Texas Poetry Review, The Connecticut River Review, and most recently, Garrison Keillor’s The Writer’s Almanac. At Sunset, Facing East was published in October 2016 by Apprentice House Press.

Free event; no registration required. Books will be available for purchase and signing at event. Question? Please email or call 301.695.2500.


Related events

  • 03/07/18 07:00 PM - 03/07/18 08:00 PM
    Meet poet Elizabeth Acevedo, who will discuss her debut novel, The Poet X. About The Poet X Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will fall hard for this astonishing novel in verse, about an Afro-Latina heroine who tells her story with blazing words and powerful truth. "A story that will slam the power of poetry and love back into your heart." - Laurie Halse Anderson, author of Speak and Chains An incredibly potent debut. Jason Reynolds, author of the National Book Award Finalist Ghost Following her presentation, Elizabeth Acevedo will answer questions and sign books purchased through Curious Iguana. Copies of The Poet X will be available for purchase at event. Cash and credit cards accepted.   Reservations required. Reserve a seat for free. Reserve a seat and a book for $17.99. Doors open at 6:30 pm and event begins at 7 pm, with book signing to follow. --------------- About Elizabeth Acevedo Elizabeth Acevedo was born and raised in New York City and her poetry is infused with Dominican bolero and her beloved citys tough grit. She holds a BA in Performing Arts from The George Washington University and an MFA in Creative Writing from the University of Maryland. With over twelve years of performance experience, Acevedo has been a featured performer on BET and Mun2, as well as delivered several TED Talks. She has written two collections of poetry, her chapbook Beastgirl & Other Origin Myths and Medusa Reads La Negra's Palm. The Poet X is her debut novel. She lives with her partner in Washington, DC.