Chris Grabenstein at Urbana Library

12/02/17 01:00 PM - 12/02/17 02:00 PM
Urbana Regional Library
9020 Amelung St, Frederick, MD 21704

Meet Chris Grabenstein, author of all of the Mr. Lemoncello books and learn more about the life of an author. In Chris’ latest book, Mr. Lemoncello’s Great Library Race, everyone’s favorite game maker, Mr. Lemoncello, is testing out his new FABULOUS FACT-FINDING FRENZY game. If Kyle can make it through the first round, he and the other lucky finalists will go on a great race—by bicycle, bookmobile, and even Mr. Lemoncello’s corporate banana jet!—to find fascinating facts about famous Americans. The first to bring their facts back to the library will win spectacular prizes. But when a few surprising “facts” surface about Mr. Lemoncello, it might be GO TO JAIL and LOSE A TURN all at once! Could Kyle’s hero be a fraud? It’s winner take all, so Kyle and the other kids will have to dig deep to find out the truth before the GAME is OVER for Mr. Lemoncello and his entire fantastic empire!

Q&A and book signing will follow author presentation, and books will be available for purchase at event. Following the event, participants can enjoy a winter treasure hunt in the library as part of Urbana Library’s day-long holiday celebration.

Free and open to the public; no registration required. Best for 3rd-6th graders. Presented in partnership with Frederick County Public Libraries.

Related events

  • 03/07/18 07:00 PM - 03/07/18 08:00 PM
    Meet poet Elizabeth Acevedo, who will discuss her debut novel, The Poet X. About The Poet X Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will fall hard for this astonishing novel in verse, about an Afro-Latina heroine who tells her story with blazing words and powerful truth. "A story that will slam the power of poetry and love back into your heart." - Laurie Halse Anderson, author of Speak and Chains An incredibly potent debut. Jason Reynolds, author of the National Book Award Finalist Ghost Following her presentation, Elizabeth Acevedo will answer questions and sign books purchased through Curious Iguana. Copies of The Poet X will be available for purchase at event. Cash and credit cards accepted.   Reservations required. Reserve a seat for free. Reserve a seat and a book for $17.99. Doors open at 6:30 pm and event begins at 7 pm, with book signing to follow. --------------- About Elizabeth Acevedo Elizabeth Acevedo was born and raised in New York City and her poetry is infused with Dominican bolero and her beloved citys tough grit. She holds a BA in Performing Arts from The George Washington University and an MFA in Creative Writing from the University of Maryland. With over twelve years of performance experience, Acevedo has been a featured performer on BET and Mun2, as well as delivered several TED Talks. She has written two collections of poetry, her chapbook Beastgirl & Other Origin Myths and Medusa Reads La Negra's Palm. The Poet X is her debut novel. She lives with her partner in Washington, DC.