Author Talk and Book Signing with Marita Golden

04/23/17 02:00 PM - 04/23/17 03:00 PM
C. Burr Artz Public Library - Community Room
110 East Patrick Street, Frederick, MD, United States

“It is always heartening to see women step up to the writer’s table. When the results are as adroit and affecting as Marita Golden’s work, it is more than satisfying, it is a cause for celebration.” – Nobel Laureate Toni Morrison

As a respected family court judge, Diane Tate spent her life making tough calls, but nothing could’ve prepared her for her husband Gregory’s diagnosis: early-onset Alzheimer’s disease. As his memory wavers and fades, Diane and her children reexamine their connections with the man they once knew and navigate loving the man he has become.

Daughter Lauren honors her gifted father by following in his footsteps as an architect, while son Sean races the clock to repair his broken relationship with Gregory. Diane remains resolute in her goal to keep her family together—until her husband finds love with another resident of his assisted living facility. Faced with an even more uncertain future, Diane must forge her own path—and discover her own capacity for love.

Author Marita Golden has written more than a dozen works of fiction and nonfiction and has taught writing at several prestigious universities. She co-founded and serves as president emeritus of Hurston/Wright Foundation, dedicated to preserving and fostering Black voices in literature. She received the Fiction Award from the Black Caucus of the American Library Association for her novel, After, as well as the Writers for Writers Award, presented by Barnes & Noble and Poets & Writers, Inc.

Presented by Curious Iguana in partnership with Frederick County Public Libraries and Alzheimer’s Association, Greater Maryland Chapter, this event is free and open to the public; no registration required.

Books will be available for purchase and signing at event.

Related events

  • 03/07/18 07:00 PM - 03/07/18 08:00 PM
    Meet poet Elizabeth Acevedo, who will discuss her debut novel, The Poet X. About The Poet X Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will fall hard for this astonishing novel in verse, about an Afro-Latina heroine who tells her story with blazing words and powerful truth. "A story that will slam the power of poetry and love back into your heart." - Laurie Halse Anderson, author of Speak and Chains An incredibly potent debut. Jason Reynolds, author of the National Book Award Finalist Ghost Following her presentation, Elizabeth Acevedo will answer questions and sign books purchased through Curious Iguana. Copies of The Poet X will be available for purchase at event. Cash and credit cards accepted.   Reservations required. Reserve a seat for free. Reserve a seat and a book for $17.99. Doors open at 6:30 pm and event begins at 7 pm, with book signing to follow. --------------- About Elizabeth Acevedo Elizabeth Acevedo was born and raised in New York City and her poetry is infused with Dominican bolero and her beloved citys tough grit. She holds a BA in Performing Arts from The George Washington University and an MFA in Creative Writing from the University of Maryland. With over twelve years of performance experience, Acevedo has been a featured performer on BET and Mun2, as well as delivered several TED Talks. She has written two collections of poetry, her chapbook Beastgirl & Other Origin Myths and Medusa Reads La Negra's Palm. The Poet X is her debut novel. She lives with her partner in Washington, DC.