Author Talk & Book Signing – Kathleen Grissom

03/12/17 02:00 PM - 03/12/17 04:00 PM
C. Burr Artz Public Library - Community Room
110 East Patrick Street, Frederick, MD, United States

Kathleen Grissom wowed critics and readers alike with her first novel, The Kitchen House. Fans connected so deeply to the book’s characters that the author found herself being asked over and over “what happens next?” She answers that question with Glory Over Everything.

This heart-racing story begins in 1830 Philadelphia with Jamie Pyke, son of both a slave and a master of Tall Oakes, the Virginian plantation he once called home. Jamie is passing in polite society as a wealthy white silversmith, but when his beloved servant Pan is captured and sold into slavery in the South, he agrees to help–even though his journey will take him perilously close to the ruthless slave hunter still searching for him.

This event is presented in partnership with Frederick County Public Libraries, as part of FCPL’s Women’s History Month celebration, and the African American Resources, Cultural Heritage Society (AARCH). Q&A and book signing will follow author presentation. Books will be available for purchase and signing at event.

Related events

  • 03/07/18 07:00 PM - 03/07/18 08:00 PM
    Meet poet Elizabeth Acevedo, who will discuss her debut novel, The Poet X. About The Poet X Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will fall hard for this astonishing novel in verse, about an Afro-Latina heroine who tells her story with blazing words and powerful truth. "A story that will slam the power of poetry and love back into your heart." - Laurie Halse Anderson, author of Speak and Chains An incredibly potent debut. Jason Reynolds, author of the National Book Award Finalist Ghost Following her presentation, Elizabeth Acevedo will answer questions and sign books purchased through Curious Iguana. Copies of The Poet X will be available for purchase at event. Cash and credit cards accepted.   Reservations required. Reserve a seat for free. Reserve a seat and a book for $17.99. Doors open at 6:30 pm and event begins at 7 pm, with book signing to follow. --------------- About Elizabeth Acevedo Elizabeth Acevedo was born and raised in New York City and her poetry is infused with Dominican bolero and her beloved citys tough grit. She holds a BA in Performing Arts from The George Washington University and an MFA in Creative Writing from the University of Maryland. With over twelve years of performance experience, Acevedo has been a featured performer on BET and Mun2, as well as delivered several TED Talks. She has written two collections of poetry, her chapbook Beastgirl & Other Origin Myths and Medusa Reads La Negra's Palm. The Poet X is her debut novel. She lives with her partner in Washington, DC.